CIPP (Cambridge Primary Programme)

The Curriculum

Cambridge Primary Programme is an education programme for learners aged 5-11 years old, designed by Cambridge International Examination, a part of of the University of Cambridge.

The programme develops the learners’ skills and understanding through their primary years, which is in line with Chandra Kusuma School’s aim towards primary education.

Cambridge Primary provides a flexible curriculum framework. Schools have freedom to choose the parts that best suit their situation, which means we can use Cambridge Primary while following our national curriculum. The particular focus of Cambridge Primary is in English, mathematics and science, which we integrated to the subjects we have in our national curriculum.

Cambridge Primary is a great place to start the learning journey. It enables learners to build their knowledge and skills progressively, through each year of the programme. It develops learners to be confident, responsible, reflective, innovative and engaged. It is an excellent preparation for Cambridge Secondary 1, and for progression to other educational systems.

In Cambridge Primary, the learners started from the aged 5 to 11 years old. The levels in Cambridge Primary are called stages, where a 5 years old learner will be in Stage 1, a 6 years old in stage 2, a 7 years old is in stage 3 and so on. Our school adjusted the stages in our own levels of:

 Age of Child  Chandra Kusuma School  Cambridge Primary
 5 – 6 years old  TK B (Kindergarten 2/K2)  Stage 1
 6 – 7 years old  SD 1 (Primary 1/P1)  Stage 2
 7 – 8 years old  SD 2 (Primary 2/P2)  Stage 3
 8 – 9 years old  SD 3 (Primary 3/P3)  Stage 4
 9 – 10 years old  SD 4 (Primary 4/P4)  Stage 5
 10 – 11 years old  SD 5 (Primary 5/P5)  Stage 6

Our SD 6 (Primary 6/P6) does a year of preparation for the National exams and the Secondary 1 programme.

The Assessment

Cambridge provides two types of test for use, the Cambridge Primary Progression Test which will be done at the end of a stage (school year) starting at the end of stage 3 (Primary 3) until stage 6 (Primary 5) and the Cambridge Primary Checkpoint test at the end of the primary programme (end of primary 5):

Cambridge Primary Progression Test is a way to understand your child’s strengths, and identify areas where more help is required. The emphasis of the test is on showing where your child is on their learning journey, rather than getting right or wrong answers. The papers will cover the learning objectives which they have learned at their stage throughout the year. The test will be given from Cambridge and will be mark by the teachers in school.

The result of the test will be distributed at the end of the school year, along with the national report. The result of the test, or as we called it the Learner Performance Report will provide detailed information about your child’s areas of strength as well as areas where improvement is needed in the core subjects of English, mathematics and science.

Cambridge Primary Checkpoint is an optional test for learners in the final year of Cambridge Primary and is available in English, mathematics and science. The tests are marked in Cambridge. Your child will receive a statement of achievement after completing Cambridge Primary Checkpoint and you will receive detailed feedback on your child’s performance.